Hello, Mr. Sun! My favorite face sunscreens!

While most girls from the beauty blogosphere are obsessed with lipsticks, nail polish, and fashion — I am crazy over sunscreen and skincare! Don’t get me wrong, I love me a good MLBB lipstick and I adore vegan nail polish (those 3-free, 4-free, and 5-free ones lol) in pretty pastel colors that complement my outfit! If I had to choose one or the other, I’d choose sunscreen. The truth is I can live without makeup and fashion items (yup I said it! please don’t kill me)…  but there’s NOOOO way I’d give up my trusty SPF! The mere thought of living in a world without my army of Armada stresses me out! I’ve tried a ton of face sunscreens in the past, and the ones I’ll be featuring in this post are the ones that get along with my skin type the best! For reference, I’m 21 years old and my skin type is oily. I prefer a matte finish and a fragrance-free formula! 🙂 

  • VMV Hypoallergenics Armada Face Cover SPF 30 (P1350; 85g) ♡ – This feels great to put on the skin because it’s light and easy to spread (no tugging). This is a chemical sunscreen so it leaves no white cast! This product is fragrance-free and non-comedogenic. A tube lasts a long time so it’s worth the hefty price tag. I’ve also tried the Armada Sport 70 (P1680; 85g) and it’s fantastic for the beach! The Sport 70 feels a bit sticky compared to the very light Armada, but it’s nothing my oily skin can’t take! If I know I’ll be out in the sun all day I reach for Armada!
  • VMV Hypoallergenics Spring Fresh Oil-Free Nourisher (SPF 15) for oily skin (P810; 120ml) – Back then this had SPF 15 on the label, but they’ve since changed the name and removed the ‘SPF 15’. However, the ingredients list is still the same. I use this mainly when I’m at home. This has a thicker consistency than Armada 30 and Belo 40, but it dries to a lovely matte finish! If you put too much on it gets hard to spread (you’ll end up with an icky white mask) so use a little at a time. I love this for lazy days at home!
  • Paula’s Choice Hydralight Shine-Free Daily Mineral Complex Broad Spectrum SPF 30 (P1420; 60ml) – This is my current face sunscreen, and I’m more than halfway through the tube! Though it has a semi-matte finish, it has great oil-controlling properties. I feel like its a sunscreen and primer in one! I blot my face less throughout the day when I’m just wearing this plus loose powder. The only downside to this wonderful SPF product is that it gives me a white cast. 😦 It’s a physical sunscreen so a white cast is inevitable. It’s fragrance-free, but it does have a mild scent to it unlike Armada 30 which smells like nothing.
  • Belo SunExpert SPF 40 PA+++ Face (P329.75 50ml) ♡ – My ultimate favorite sunscreen in terms of price, texture, and finish! They recently came out with the new packaging and the price shot up to P330 (it used to be P299.75 in the old packaging). I love the new packaging though so I can’t complain! This is fragrance-free and non-comedogenic as well (you can tell I’m big on these two factors haha)! The texture is almost identical with Armada 30! LOVE! I find this even more lightweight than Armada to be honest and it has a more matte finish too! It doesn’t have any oil-controlling properties like Paula’s Choice Hydralight but that’s okay since it feels like I’m wearing NOTHING on the skin (no icky, sticky, greasy feeling)! No white cast too! It’s unbelievable, sometimes I forget it’s a sunscreen! I hope they make this in a bigger size because 50ml is not enough (I wear SPF daily)!

FACE SPF 2014

There you have it! My summer armor against Mr. Sun’s harsh rays! I Hope you enjoyed this post! I’d love to know what face sunscreens you guys are using too so please drop a comment and share your faves. ☁☼☂☼☂☁

♥,

E.

Leave a Reply

